Curly Hair Journey, The Beginning | April 2018

For a while now, I’ve been trying to deal with my hair. I grew it really really long and tried not to damage it with heat. I tried to take care of it very gently by washing it only once a week, only brushing it when I was going to wash it, and always braid it before I’d sleep. It worked good, but my hair was just really long, and wavy. It also was a bit frizzy, and I knew my hair was sort of curly, but it was just too hard to handle. First of because it was so long, and second because I just did not know how to deal with curly hair. Eventually, a co-worker (who has the most amazing curls) told me her curly hair routine. So I tried it, and my hair curled! I loved it. (and sorry for the weird pics, but my hair was just to long to fit on a normal selfie)

In November (2017), I decided to chop 10 cm of my hair. I was done with it, but too afraid to cut it short. Nobody noticed my hair was shorter tho, only it curled more and looked healtier. I got a lot of positive reactions, and I loved my ‘short’ and curly hair too. That was when I decided that I wanted to chop off more in spring/ summer. (on the left: my hair right after I came back from the hairdresser, on the right: my hair when I did it myself)

So last week, I decided to chop off 30 cm so I could donate my hair. I love the length of my hair know! It is just, that it is not as curly as I expected it to be. I feel like my hair was more curly when it was longer. My routine is: washing it with my Elvive Keratin Shampoo, using the Elvive Keratin conditioner, rinsing that out with cold water, scrunging my hair, drying it with a t-shirt, putting in mouse and curl cream and at last drying it with the diffuser. It gave curls and volume, but also quite a lot of frizz. (on the left: my hair right after the chop. My hairdresser always puts in loads of product, so it wasn’t frizzy at all, but I just don’t like the feeling of having that much product in my hair, it feels so greasy. On the right: my hair when I do it myself, also with a little bun what is not showing in the pic)

For a while, I was reading about the curly girl method, where you won’t use products with sulfates, silicones, alcohol, and try to use as less heat on your hair as possible. Today April 30th, 2018, is the day I started my own ‘natural curly hair journey’. This morning I went to the store to buy sulfate free shampoo, silicone free conditioner and a silicone free gel. The gel because I want to try a new routine I saw a Youtuber doing. I washed my hair for the last time with a sulfate shampoo to rinse out all the silicones in my hair, drained my hair in the silicone free conditioner, rinsed that out with cold water and scrunged in the gel on soaking wet hair. After that, I scrunged my hair a bit more and dried it with a t-shirt. It was also the first time I let my hair air dry.

I am really content with the result. My hair feels softer, is less frizzy and I can use fewer products. For the curls, I feel like my curls look quite the same, only that it curls maybe a bit more now. Not sure tho. I’m definitely going to continue with this routine/method. For now, I will keep using only conditioner and gel, but maybe in a while, I will try a silicone free mouse and cream. Of course, I will write about that 🙂

This is only the beginning of my ‘curly hair journey’ as the Youtubers call it. I am excited to take you with me! And I promise I won’t disappear again for another five months haha. Also, I want to capture my hair journey on my makeup instagram: @lifeasdaisyblog .  (If you want to see more outfit pics, follow my personal instagram: @daisyvdplas )

Thank you so much for ready, have a lovely day!

Lots of love xxx

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Curly Hair Journey, The Beginning | April 2018

Leave a comment