Alone in Phnom Penh | Travel Diary

Tuesday morning I left Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam really early by bus to start my adventure in Cambodia. First time I was travelling completely on my own. Scary but also really exciting.

My bus left around 8.30 am from Vietnam. It would take around 7 hours to go to Phnom Penh, Cambodia. 

The drive was really long. The only stops we made were at the Vietnamese border, Cambodian border and in a restaurant to wait for the passports. It was an interesting process. First we had to give our passports to the guide of the bus, with extra money for the visa and him. Then we had to go out of the bus, and just wait. They didn’t tell us anything, no one knew what was going on. We got our passports back and had to go back in the bus, that brought us to the Cambodian border. There we had to leave the bus again and give our passports to a man. Then we left with the bus to the restaurant, and the man with the passports was gone. There we waited for the passports that came by motor bike. After that it was time to go further to Phnom Penh.

I arrived there in the afternoon. I decided to go for a little stroll to a temple, and after that I ended up on after night market where I had some dinner.

On Wednesday I went to the Killing Fields with a tuk tuk. The driver gave me this mouth thing, because there was so much smog. Very Asian.

The Killing Fields were very impressive. It’s horrible, and it was really sad to hear and see everything that happened. 

After a quick lunch, I visited the Tuol Sleng Museum. The old prison from the time the Khmer Rouge was there. Also that was horrible to see. So much pain.

Thursday morning I went to the market where I bought a lot of souvenirs for my family. 

After that I went to the Cambodian National Museum, but I didn’t really like it. It was mostly statues of Buddha’s. 

Sadly it started raining really bad so I decided to go back to the hostel. I had some lunch and when it stopped I went out for a Cambodian ice coffee from a street food market with someone from my hostel. It was really good. We just have a little wander through Phnom Penh. And I finally saw the Royal Palace.

In the evening I went out for some drinks and dinner.

The next day we went for some coffee again with a few. After that I had to leave with the bus to go to Siem Reap. The Khmer new year had already started a bit and Phnom Penh was changing into a ghost city. 

Instagram ♡ Youtube ♡ Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

