The temples of Ayutthaya | Travel Diary

My last day in Thailand I went to the temples of Ayutthaya. It is only 1 and half hour with the train from Bangkok. Also it was really cheap, for the third class I only paid 20 baht what is like 50 cent. In the Netherlands that would be impossible! The train ride was nice. 

When I arrived at Ayutthaya I didn’t really know what to do, because I didn’t expected it to be a huge city. But glady I met a nice French girl with who I spend the day. We hired a motorbike and discovered the lovely temples of Ayutthaya. First we were totally lost, but in the end we were great at finding the way! And I’m happy she was driving because the traffic in Thailand is just crazy everywhere.

The temples were really beautiful and so different from the ones in Bangkok. Apparently Ayutthaya was the capital before Bangkok, and because it was it’s 666 years birthday the entry of all the temples was free. That was nice 🙂 .
In the afternoon we visited a floating market where I had some dinner and after that it was time to go back with the train. This time the train took a little longer to get back. I also was lost when I had to walk back but glady I bummed into one of the girls from my next group and we found our hostel back. 

Right now I’m waiting for my taxi to pick me up to go to the airport. My Thailand adventure sadly will end today but I’m excited for the adventures in Vietnam. Thailand felt so much like home and I’m definitely coming back! But right now: Vietnam is waiting for me 🙂

Instagram ♡ Youtube ♡ Bloglovin’

8 thoughts on “The temples of Ayutthaya | Travel Diary

  1. Wow! Ayutthaya looks so mystical and transcendent! I like the last picture in particular… At the first glance I thought it is just a bunch of interlinked nodes… until I saw Buddha’s face!


    L.R.
    THE RINK

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

