GAP YEAR | Experience & What to do

large-1

*In this post I tell about my experience so far with a gap year. This is my opinion about it and what I believe is a good thing to do in a gap year. It is possible that you share a different opinion, and that’s okay because everyone is different. But this is just my view at it and how I look at it. I’m not trying to insult anyone, and if I did, I’m sorry.

At the moment I am having a gap year. I’ve finished high school this year and really wanted to go to college. But sadly there was no space for me (and 200 others) to attend the study. In my first post I said I did not choose for having a gap year. But actually I did, because I could have chosen to do another study. But I didn’t, and the reason for that is that I did not want to do something that I was not 100 % excited for.

There are some people around me who say they are jealous at me, because I don’t have to go to school and study. But there is nothing to be jealous about. Honestly, I was very sad that I have a gap year because I expected to be in college now. And it was very hard to see all my friends going to college and moving forward while I was standing still.

I do not regret that I have a gap year now. I think it is good for me, but the problem for me was that it came unexpected. Because it is not that I don’t know what to do, it is that there is so much to do but I just don’t have the money for it. I think if you take a gap year, you have to choose conscious for it so you have the time to safe some money up. Another thing that I think is that if you have a gap year, use it usefull so it does not feel like a wasted year. That was what I was the most scared of ( and I still am), that I have the feeling I did nothing usefull this year and it was totally a waste.

You don’t have to undertake a big adventure to make a gap year usefull. I think the most important thing is that you grow as a person and improve yourself to be the best person you can be at that moment. How you do it, that is totally up to you.

For me personally, I feel like I have to learn something but also have to see something of the world to grow. This year I want to use for getting experience (with work and volunteer work abroad), learning something new ( I want to learn a language of maybe to be a MUA), getting stronger ( physically and mentally), getting independent (maybe by backpacking or travelling), be more confident, doing everything I have to do to attend the study I want to, but most important of all: getting and being the best version of myself I can be at that moment. And that’s a lot, I know, but I’m working on it to achieve all of it.

Some ideas you can do in your gap year ( warning: you really need to safe money)

  • Volunteer work abroad – I am really interested in doing this. I’ve already done it once in South-Africa and it was an amazing experience. Now I would really like to do volunteer work in Asia. I saw that it is possible to teach kids in Bali (Indonesia) English. It sounds perfect for me, because I really want to do something with English, I want to help people, this is also good to get confident ( one of my points) and I really want to learn about the Indonesian culture because I have Indonesian roots.
  • Learning a language abroad – there are a lot of organisations who offer this and it sounds so fun! It is also the best way to learn a language quick, being in the country of the language! The only disadvantage for me is that with the amount of money you have to pay for this, I could do a whole college or university study of 4 years in the Netherlands.
  • Being an au pair – this is a good idea. Most of the times you even get payed and the only thing that you have to pay is your flight. But this is only suitable for you if you love kids, and if you are not scared of the idea that you never know with what kind of people you get to live.
  • Do high school or college in Australia/USA/UK – I always loved this idea, but this is the same as the language course. With the amount of money I have to pay for this I could study in the Netherlands. I find it not worth it to be honest.
  • Learn a new skill – this is so perfect to do because you can stay where you are mostly. For me I would like to learn more about makeup or how to control a motorcycle. But there are a lot more skills you can learn!
  • Travelling / backpacking – if you have read my blogpost ‘My travel bucketlist‘ you may know what I would like. This is one more possibility for a gap year. You learn to be independent. The only danger is that you may love the freedom and don’t want to go back to college/university/work. Places to backpack could be (in my opinion) Asia, Australia/New Zealand  (I’ve read that this place is very good when it’s your first time), USA and Europe.

So that were my thoughts about a gap year and how I experience it. I hope I can help someone with it, because I couldn’t find much about this topic. If you have experience with a gap year or you are in the same situation as me, feel free to share your experience and thoughts! I would love to read it and maybe we can help each other.

Thank you so much for reading, I hope you have a nice day!

3 thoughts on “GAP YEAR | Experience & What to do

Leave a Reply

